Vegan wines are produced without the use of animal-derived ingredients at any stage of the process. This includes not only the winemaking itself, but also the products used for the treatment and clarification of the wine. In general, the production process of wines considered as vegan is not very different from the production, non-vegan, or known as conventional. However, there are some crucial differences between the two, namely the fact that oenological products of animal origin cannot be used in vegan production.

  • Clarification: In the traditional winemaking process, clarifying agents such as gelatin, albumin (egg protein), casein (milk protein) and fish glue were often used to remove unwanted particles from wine before bottling. However, these products are of animal origin. Vegan wines use alternative clarification methods, such as the use of bentonite (a clay) or vegetable activated charcoal.
  • Vegan ingredients and processes: In addition to clarification, other animal-based ingredients that could be found in some traditional wines include enzymes and yeast. In vegan wines, these ingredients are replaced with plant-based or synthetic versions.

Some wines are flagged as vegan friendly but have not yet been certified vegan. Below is the link to the wines in our store that are vegan certified.

Certified Vegan Wines

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *